Fear Not (to go)

Genesis 46:3 “And he said, I am God, the God of thyfear not father: fear not to go down into Egypt; for I will there make of thee a great nation:”

There is great rejoicing. Jacob’s favorite son, Joseph has been found! Not only is he alive and well, he is second in command in Egypt. He has asked that all his family come live in Egypt with him.

Jacob, a very elderly man at this point, is very hesitant to go to Egypt. Not only is it a long journey it is a place known for sin. It is not God’s promised land.

Twenty chapters back we see God telling Jacob’s father, Isaac, NOT to go to Egypt. It’s easy to understand where Jacob’s hesitation comes from.

But God tells Jacob, “I am God, the God of thy father: Fear not…” He is saying I am the same God that has led you this far, keep trusting me now.

When God said, “Fear not,” I wonder if Jacob’s fears were instantly settled? Or maybe he just trusted despite his fears.

How are my fears- your fears- keeping us from trusting God today? I cannot hold on to my fears when God says, “Fear not.” I need to say, “Okay, God, I trust you. I won’t fear.”

The presence of fear indicates the absence of trust. 

Sometimes we think our fears are justified based on past experiences or present troubles. But God says, “Fear not.”

We hold onto our fears because it is more comfortable. It is easier. But what if Jacob had made the more comfortable choice? It would have been far easier for him if he had just stayed and avoided the long journey to Egypt. But he would have missed out on God’s blessing. He would have never seen God’s promise of a great nation fulfilled.

So now let me ask what blessings might we be missing out on because of our fears? What’s keeping you from seeing God’s will in your life? Your fears?

For the rest of the Fear Not series go here.

Leave a Reply

