Fear Not (for I am with thee)

Fear- an unpleasant emotion caused by the belief fear notthat someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat.

The other day I went to drop off some pajamas for my kids so they could sleep over at Grandma’s house. When I got there they were all playing in the living room and William asked me to watch him. I stood there as he jumped from one piece of furniture to the next and although it made me feel a little nervous I was fine watching. That is, until he got to the last jump and said, “I can even do this one.” There was at least a two foot gap between the couch that he was jumping from and the wobbly stool that he intended to jump on. I covered my eyes and said, “I can’t watch” as he made the final jump. I was afraid- just a little bit- for his safety.

Fear is a pretty natural emotion that we feel on a daily basis. Whether it be for our child’s safety, our own safety, specific fears like heights or spiders, being alone or the unknown. Fear happens all the time. But what does God say? “Fear Not.”

Genesis 26:24 says, “And the Lord appeared unto him the same night, and said, I am the God of Abraham thy father: FEAR NOT, for I am with thee, and will bless thee, and multiply thy seed for my servant Abraham’s sake.”

If you were to go up a bit in that passage (verses 1-3) you will see that there is a famine. Everyone is heading to Egypt in order to survive but God tells Isaac not to go. He tells Isaac to wander in the land and He will provide for him.

As the chapter progresses we see that everywhere Isaac goes he prospers. This intimidates the Philistines. Every well he digs people come and fight for it. So Isaac will move and dig another well. What happens? Someone comes and fights for that well. They continue to move until they find a place where they can dig a well without it being taken away.

Isaac must have been getting discouraged by that point. God said to wander instead of going to Egypt and here they are searching for a place to dig a well. But then God came and said, “Fear not, for I am with thee…”

God is saying, “I am enough.”

Sometimes God wants us to take the harder route. This is for our benefit. That may mean “wandering” for a bit. This is also for our benefit. God wants us to come to the point where we see and believe that having God is having enough and therefore we have no reason to fear. God will provide what I need whether that need be physical, emotional, spiritual, etc.

God says, “Fear not.” What fears are in your way right now? What fears are keeping you from seeing that God is enough? Where God leads He always provides.

 

One thought on “Fear Not (for I am with thee)

  1. Pingback: Fear Not (to go) | Creating Kilter

Leave a Reply

