Gluten Free Crockpot Oatmeal

I sort of feel jipped when it comes to oatmeal.oatmea2 I never really appreciated it until a few weeks before I became allergic to gluten. Since then gluten free oatmeal has come a long way and is pretty delicious. But here in the North we rarely get those yummy gluten free oats that turn soft when you cook them. What we have are the old fashioned oats that can be amazing but take a long time on the stove to get there. That’s pretty much the only reason I don’t eat oats more often…they just take too long to prepare.

So here is the solution to all my oat problems: crockpot oatmeal. It is AMAZING how soft and gooey these oats became! I put 1 1/2 cups oats, 3 cups water, 3 peeled and diced apples, and cinnamon in my crockpot before bed. It cooked on low for 8 hours and I woke to an amazing smell coming from my kitchen. Topped with a bit of brown sugar and a splash of milk these crockpot oats were so yummy!

Now I can’t wait to try all sorts of other flavors of crockpot oatmeal! What are some of your favorite flavors?

Gluten Free Crockpot Oatmeal

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups steel cut or old fashioned oats (Gluten free if needed)

3 cups water

2 cups peeled and diced apples

cinnamon

Directions

Combine all ingredients in crockpot. Cook on low for 8 hours.

 

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

