When Fear Hinders Your Faith

In Genesis 14 we learn that a man named Lot is taken captive when he was living in Sodom and Gomorrah. Abram, Lot’s uncle, heard of this and went to save Lot. Not only did he recover Lot, he also defeated the enemy army and brought back all the goods and people that were also taken. The king, who is not only impressed but also grateful, tells Abram to take whatever he would like as a thankyou.

But what does Abram do? He denies any reward. He wants to make sure everyone knows it is the Lord who takes care of him and not the riches of men.

Then God says, “Fear not, Abram: I am thy shield and thy exceeding great reward.” (Genesis 15:1)

What? Why would God need to tell Abram to fear not? Without a second thought he went out and defeated the enemy! Without a second thought he turned down the king’s riches. This is a man full of faith. Why would God have to tell him to fear not? Abram must have been fearful. But he did not allow his fear to hinder his faith.  He declined riches in order to see God provide.

Then God so lovingly assures Abram that he made the right choice. God says not only will I be your Shield- your Protector- I will also be your EXCEEDING Great Reward. Moses turned down a reward for an exceeding Great Reward. I’d say he made the right choice.

Now the choice is ours. Each and everyday we choose to either be fearful of what we are currently going through- financial trouble, physical trouble, emotional trouble, etc. or to have faith that God knows and will provide for our every need.

Fear tells me to only rely on what I can see and touch. Fear tells me to do what I need to do to get what I feel I need to get. Fear tells me to stay within my comfort zone. Fear tells me to be afraid of what others might think of me.

Faith tells me to let God work. Faith tells me to follow God even if I don’t know where He is leading. Faith tells me to trust in the promises God has given me in His Word regardless even when they seem impossible to me.

Let God be your shield and Exceeding Great Reward. Don’t let fear hinder your faith.

fear hinders faith

 

4 thoughts on “When Fear Hinders Your Faith

  1. Pingback: Digging Deeper in the Word {Key Words} | Creating Kilter

  2. Pingback: Why Did Jericho’s Walls Fall? | Creating Kilter

  3. Pingback: Fear Not (for God hath heard) | Creating Kilter

Leave a Reply

