When Should I Speak?

sunlightverse

 

“And when they [shepherds] had seen it, they made known abroad the saying which was told them concerning this child. But Mary kept all these things, and pondered them in her heart.”

1 Event.

2 Different People.

1 Message.

2 Different Responses.

What determined how they responded? Who was in the right? Should Mary have also been proclaiming Christ’s birth? Should the shepherds have just gone back to the fields and enjoyed this special blessing quietly?

How do I know when to proclaim and when to hold my peace?

Why did the shepherds proclaim? They were excited! After learning such wonderful news of the long awaited Savior they just could not hold it in. They were changed men and needed to tell people about it!

Why did Mary hold her peace? Was she overwhelmed at the thought of raising God’s Son? Was she just enjoying the moment?¬†Instead of posting it on Facebook and Instagram she was just enjoying her new Son.

Why did they respond differently?

God spoke to them differently.

God used them differently.

When God says to speak, SPEAK! But when God says, “Peace be still.” You had better be still! God’s plan is not the same for everyone.

If God wants me to speak I cannot base my obedience or disobedience on whether or not someone else is speaking. If God says to hold my peace I cannot go against that just because someone else is out there spreading the words that I want to be speaking!

God speaks to us differently.

God uses us differently.

So, how do I know if I am to speak or hold my peace?

Be close to God. Be listening for His voice and His direction. His answer will not be the same every time so everyday we must be listening for His voice.

One thought on “When Should I Speak?

  1. Pingback: Move or Rest? | Creating Kilter

Leave a Reply

