Crochet Scarf Pattern

I love winter. I love scarves. I love mittens. I love crocheting. Most of you already know these things about me. This winter I have been experimenting and trying out  a lot of new patterns. These patterns have been inspiring me and I have been able to come up with several patterns of my own. I am really excited to share this pattern with you. It started out as a scarf but when it was coming out WAY TOO THICK I decided to make this short scarf/neck-warmer. It attaches with buttons which gives it a great look. And although hard to see in this photo, it has two braids down the middle. This is a new technique for me that I am in love with now!

scarf

Here is my pattern. I have been writing out patterns for a while but this is my first pattern for other people. Please let me know if you have any questions about it or get stuck anywhere. I am in the process of making a video tutorial so that will be added in time! Don’t let the fptc and bptc scare you! Give it a try!

What you need:

Hook: J/10 (6.00 mm)

Yarn: two different colors (or two strands of one color). Use only one strand if you want a thinner scarf.

Terms:

sc- single crochet

hdc- half double crochet

fptc- front post triple crochet

bptc- back post triple crochet (^follow same instructions as front post but do it from behind instead)

Holding both colors, chain 21. You will be holding the two yarns as if they are one for the rest of the pattern.

Round 1: sc in second chain from hook. Sc across. 

Round 2: Chain two (acts as first hdc for the rest of the pattern), hdc next three stitches, fptc in next four stitches, hdc in next four stitches, fptc in next four stitches, hdc in last 4 stitches. Chain two. Turn.

Round 3: Chain two, hdc in next three stitches, SKIP FIRST TWO FPTC then BPTC in the next two fptc. Go back and bptc in the first two fptc that you skipped. Hdc in next four stitches. SKIP FIRST TWO FPTC then BPTC in the next two fptc. Go back and bptc in the first two fptc that you skipped. Hdc in the last four stitches. Chain two. Turn. 

Round 4: Chain two, hdc in next three stitches. Fptc in next four stitches. Hdc in next four stitches. Fptc in next four stitches. Hdc in last four stitches. Chain two. Turn.

The fptc and the bptc are what give the scarf beautiful braids down the sides.

Repeat rounds 3 & 4 until desired length (about 32 inches).

Cross over the scarf so the right corner of the right side meets (and lays on top of) the left corner of the left side. Attach buttons on the part of the scarf that is on the bottom and the buttons can push up through the fptc/bptc.

Leave a Reply

