To Chip or Not To Chip

DSCF7287\

If you love Veggie Chips I think it would be best for you to not read this post. Go ahead, move on. Nothing to see here.

I really love chips. In the last week I decided (with the help of my accountability buddies!) to not eat any more chips until January. This is because I could probably sit down and eat an entire bag of Doritos. I have never actually done that but I don’t at all doubt my ability to do so. And how do I feel after I do eat a lot of chips? AWFUL! But for some reason I keep going back to them…

I was eating some veggie chips the other day and I checked out the nutritional facts. I was surprised by the amount of calories and sodium in these “healthy” chips. So, I compared them to my favorite unhealthy chips, Doritos, and the bbq chips I found in the cupboard. The results were a little surprising!

Here is a side-by-side comparison of these chips. I used Old Dutch BBQ, Doritos Tangy Cheese, and Good Health Veggie Chips. Here’s a photo of their serving sizes, each 50 grams.

chips blog

CALORIES: BBQ- 250; DORITOS- 270; VEGGIE CHIPS- 250

SODIUM: BBQ- 390 mg; DORITOS- 390 mg; VEGGIE CHIPS- 350 mg 

FAT: BBQ- 14 g; DORITOS- 15 g; VEGGIE CHIPS- 12 g

I recorded the rest of the facts but for sake of time lets stop here and try to come to a conclusion. Calories speak for themselves. If you are the type to count calories (I am not) then it’s obvious these chips are equals. Sodium. All of these chips have more than 15% of the suggested daily intake of sodium. Anything higher than 10% is no good and should not be eaten often. Definitely not everyday! Lastly, the fat. I need to say that the fat in the BBQ and Doritos chips are not the same as the Veggie Chips.

BBQ and Doritos have saturated fats…clog your arteries fats. These fats raise your cholesterol and are no good for your heart. Veggie Chips have only 2 g of the saturated fats and 10 grams of unsaturated fats. These fats lower bad cholesterol and can help prevent heart disease.

So does that mean Veggie Chips are good for me? NO! Look at all that sodium! Seriously the unsaturated fats are the only thing in there good for you but they are so covered in sodium! If you are really interested in getting more unsaturated fats in your diet you can eat nuts, seeds, vegetable oils, and avocados (just to name a few).

Conclusions!

1. I would rather just eat Doritos if I am going to eat chips at all.

2. Read your labels!!! 

Leave a Reply

