An Overflowing Gladness

image

It’s good to be reminded of truths every now and then. That’s just one of the reasons why I take notes during preaching. I like to go through my notes during my devotions sometimes and be reminded of what the Lord has already taught me. Yesterday I came across this definition for joy that Pastor Gardner shared down in Leola:

An overflowing gladness that only God can give. This is not an emotion. It is focusing on facts even when we don’t feel it.”

Christian, you may not feel like having joy this morning. But I challenge you to, like David, ask the Lord to restore unto you the joy of your salvation (Psalm 51:12). Choose today to have joy based not on circumstances or emotion but rather on God and all He has done for you.

Leave a Reply

