Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

IMG_5845

Fall is here. Really, I don’t think summer ever came. But that’s okay, because fall is beautiful. The leaves are changing color. The sun is setting earlier (starts setting around 11 PM.) You can smell wood smoke when you take a walk. We are starting to pull out mittens again (and making some new ones) and practicing patterns for leg warmers. I love fall.

IMG_5664

My brother in law took this photo along the Dempster Highway last weekend

And what do we do in the fall? Bake, of course! Shane loves cookies and I am slowly but surely making them tasty. That started out as just edible cookies. Then they were good cookies. Then they were “we are having guests let’s make cookies” cookies.

cookies3

I used to dread making them because I was never pleased with how they came out but now that I know the secret to baking cookies I really enjoy making them! Do you know the secret? I am usually really late to information like that, so I am sure you do.

cookies4

But, for those of you that don’t, the secret is to take them out of the oven when they just start to brown but are still very soft. Then let them sit on the baking sheet for five minutes outside of the oven. They come out perfect every time.

This week I made Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies from Two Peas & Their Pod. They were very much enjoyed. I admit, though, I made them with gluten so I wasn’t able to taste them for myself. I am going purely by my husband’s opinion. And he says they are very good 🙂

Got any secret cookie tips for me? Maybe you have a better oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe for me? Share with me!

cookies

.

Leave a Reply

