How Does She Do It?

Virtuous_woman_home

This past month I had been following along with Women Living Well‘s study on the book of Proverbs. We spent a week looking at the Virtuous Woman and what made her so virtuous.

Like I have mentioned before, I love studying the Virtuous Woman. She is an amazing woman. She is strong, gives to the poor, feeds everyone in her care, clothes her family, makes her husband look good…the list goes on. And as you read each verse about her you start to feel a little overwhelmed. Like, I don’t think I am going to live long enough to become the Virtuous Woman. For each step I take forward I take at least two steps backwards. This is going to be a long process.

With that in mind, I thought I would take some time this morning to share two things I learned about this woman this past month.

First, I learned that she is prepared. She doesn’t wake up one chilly morning, see that there is snow beginning to fall and then pull out her needles and yarn to start crocheting her kids some hats and mittens. She prepares for the winter and already has her family’s needs met long before they are needed.

She openeth her mouth with wisdom. This doesn’t come naturally. She has prepared her mind and spirit for this by knowing the Lord and being in His Word. We could go on and on about ways we see how she prepares ahead of time based on this chapter. How can I be more prepared?

Wake up earlier?

Meal planning?

Keep up with laundry?

Study my Bible?

I am sure the list could go on.

Secondly, I learned that it’s not so much about all the things that the Virtuous Woman did…it’s more about Who she did it for. You read all about the things she does and you start to make your list of things that maybe you could do, too, to be more virtuous. But then you come to verse 30, “Favour is deceitful, beauty is vain: but a woman that feareth the Lord, she shall be praised.”

You can do all those things and do them very well. But if you are not doing it for the Lord you might as well not do it at all. It is in vain. It is deceitful. It is not virtuous. Who are you living for? Yourself? Your husband? Your children? A woman that feareth the Lord, she shall be praised…

What are some lessons you have learned from the Virtuous Woman? Share them with me!

signature

5 thoughts on “How Does She Do It?

  1. Wow… such an impactful post. Thank you, thank you for sharing these lessons you learned! I often feel the same way as you – will I live long enough to become anything like her?! But the lessons you boiled it down to here are awesome & probably something I will even put in my journaling Bible. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Thanks for coming by! | Creating Kilter

  3. Pingback: Is His Heart Safe? | Creating Kilter

Leave a Reply

