Tips for Staying Motivated

stay motivated

Staying motivated to work out is not easy. I go through so many lulls with exercising. It’s something I really love to do and know is important but still I lose motivation from time to time. Because of that, I have learned several ways to get motivated to get moving again. Here are the ways I stay motivated:

1. Purpose

This is possibly the most important thing when exercising. Why do you exercise? What caused you to start should be a good reminder for you to continue even when you don’t feel like it. My purpose is to be healthy and strong to be able to keep up with my kids. I want to play with them now as they are toddlers and also enjoy playing sports with them as they become teenagers. I know that with every push up I do, every mile I walk I am increasing my chances of being active with them as they get older.

2. Accountability

I have several forms of accountability. First, is Shane. He helps me stay accountable with things like drinking water instead of pop. He often will fill up my water bottle for me when he sees it empty and stick it in the frig or freezer. He knows I like it cold 🙂 When I see a water bottle in there I am way more likely to grab it instead of something filled with sugar.

Another form of accountability I have is with my sisters and our friend. We set up a Facebook group 3 years ago to log our daily exercise. It started out as a competition to one up each other. But now it is a very important role in my fitness. I know they will notice if I go more than one day without exercising. I know they will notice if I haven’t increased my reps in a while. Some days I won’t feel like working out at all and then I see one of them post their workout for the day. It always prompts me to get up and do something. Even if it’s not much I do something.

Lastly for accountability, I have a friend from church. We go to a program here in town together called circuit training. It is only once a week and some weeks I do not feel like going. Then I get a text from her saying she will be here to pick me up in an hour.

It’s so important to have someone to help push you when you need it.

3. Invest Money

It doesn’t have to be a lot of money. I surely don’t have a lot of money to spend on working out. But find a good pair of sneakers and wear them. My sister got me that awesome pair of Nike’s in the photo above. A good pair of sneakers will really help you want to exercise. Invest in some weights. I got mine from Shane’s parents. They were going to sell them but no one came to pick them up so I got them. They make my workouts SO MUCH MORE FUN. Seriously, it is worth it. My weights are also pictured above. Another investment that I love is my chin up bar. I got one worth $230 at a yard sale for $20. That thing is so much fun. Buying things to make your workouts better will make you want to workout.

4. Goals

I cannot say enough about making goals. Set short-term and long-term goals. This doesn’t have to be weight goals. In fact, I try not to make weight loss goals. The only time I do is after having a baby. I always have that goal to get back to pre baby weight. But then after that my goals are things like doing 2 chin ups in a row (which is why I bought the chin up bar), walking 100 miles, doing 20 push ups without stopping, fit into a certain pair of jeans, etc. I also measure my waist and thighs and use them as starting measurements rather than a starting weight.

5. Knowledge

The more I workout the more I enjoy reading about working out. I read articles about food and exercise, I learn new exercises, and I follow blogs that give great information about working out. My favorite blog right now is Diary of a Fit Mommy. She is a real life mom with no fluff in her articles. Very real and very motivating.

How do you stay motivated? Share your tips with me! And don’t forget to vote for your favorite cake in the Birthday Cake Battle!

One thought on “Tips for Staying Motivated

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Things | Creating Kilter

Leave a Reply

