Encouragement

This past week one of the ladies from my church hosted a Bible study. We typically have a ladies Bible study once every couple months and they are always a huge blessing. I just wanted to share a few thoughts that were shared at the Bible study. It is so encouraging to study encouragement in the Bible 🙂

The main question we were asked was, “Why is encouragement so important?” The answer was found in Hebrews 3:13 “But exhort one another daily, while it is called To day; lest any of you be hardened through the deceitfulness of sin.”  

God wants us to encourage our brothers and sisters in Christ to keep us and those we are encouraging away from sin. This doesn’t mean we won’t sin if we are encouraging others. But it does mean that we can “fight off” a hard heart by encouraging others. And then that encouragement helps give them strength to fight off a hard heart as well. The bottom of our handout said, “When we are encouraged in Christ, we have strength to put on our spiritual armor and remain steadfast.”

We went on to talk about many places in the Bible where God talks about encouragement.We talked about men of God, like Elijah, who struggled with staying encouraged. We talked about a famous encourager (It’s my blog, I can make up words if I want to), Barnabas.

Then the discussion was opened, inviting woman to share ways they have been encouraged. Everyone was quiet for a while, then some one said, “I know I have been encouraged by others, but the only thing that is coming to my mind right now is how I have been encouraged by Scriptures.” Then the conversation got going! Almost every woman shared how they had been encouraged in God’s Word that week. What an encouragement that was to me! God uses His Word to encourage us, then when we share it others can be encouraged by it as well!

I just have to share one of the verses that was shared that night. Exodus 20:21, “And the people stood afar off, and Moses drew near unto the thick of the darkness where God was.” When you find that you are in the darkness, remember that God is still there. 

So think now of someone you might encourage. Send a note or call them up. Let them know you are praying for them, tell them they are doing a good job. And when the Lord puts it on your heart to encourage someone, do it. You never know what kind of help it can be. Remember what God says in Hebrews, “But exhort one another daily, while it is called To day; lest any of you be hardened through the deceitfulness of sin.”  

One thought on “Encouragement

  1. Haha! “It’s my blog, I can make up words if I want to!” lol… so you Sands! And wow this post was powerful… I hadn’t thought about that verse in some time. I think I need to post that one on my fridge! And I am so excited – I’m starting up a young women’s Bible Study group at our church next month! I am hoping it goes well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

